The Haddon Library

Friday afternoon closure — update
Monday, 18th September, 2017

The Haddon will close at 16:00 on Friday 22 September.

Apologies for the inconvenience.

LONG VACATION
Friday, 16th June, 2017

Vacation borrowing started Friday 16 June, and will let you keep the borrowed items till Friday 6 October.

The Haddon’s opening hours will be:

Monday to Thursday, 09:00-13:00, 14:00-17:00
Friday, 09:15-13:00, 14:00-17:00
Closed at weekends

The library is closed on Bank Holiday Monday, 29 August, and at 16:00 on Friday 22 September.

 

End-of-year recall and £10 charge for late books
Wednesday, 31st May, 2017

The end-of-year recall of Haddon Library loans will happen this year on Thursday 15 June.

We’d like all your borrowed books &c back, please, by close of business (17:15) on that day.

For books that miss that deadline there’s not just the usual fine, but also a £10 surcharge for each borrower. That’s £10 per borrower not £10 per book. People sometimes ask.

After that comes vacation borrowing, which starts on Friday 16 June and will let you keep the borrowed items till Friday 6 October.

After that comes the switch to vacation hours: Mon-Thurs 09:00-17:00, Fri 09:15-1700, closed at weekends.

And we mentioned the £10 surcharge in the header, and we’re mentioning it again now at the end, so please don’t say the information is buried!

Opening hours, Easter Term
Saturday, 29th April, 2017

Mon-Thurs 08:45-17:15; Fri 09:15-17:15; Sat 09:00-13:00, 14:00-17:00.

So we’re open on Saturdays, but closed on Sundays.

In May, we’ll stay open on weekdays till 19:00. And that includes the two bank holidays — Mon 1 May and Mon 29 May.

And here comes advance warning about what we do at the end of term. We’d like all Haddon books returned from loan, please, on or before Thursday 15 June. Beware our £10 surcharge on fines for books that miss that end-of-term deadline. Borrowing for the long vacation will start on Friday 16 June.

Good luck with this term!

LibAnswers
Tuesday, 8th March, 2016

Check out http://answers.libraries.cam.ac.uk/ for answers to any Cambridge library questions you have.

“How do I use referencing software?”

“How do I request a book that is out on loan?”

“How do I know if a book is scholarly?”

are popular at the moment, and you can type in questions of your own as well.

Vacation borrowing starts Monday 7 March
Friday, 4th March, 2016

A return date of Friday 22 April will apply to anything you borrow then — from Monday 7 March for most of the vacation.

Once vacation borrowing starts, you will be able to renew your existing loans, in most cases, for the whole of the vac.

If you want a book for the vacation and someone else has it out, you can recall it; online up to Sunday 6 March, or by asking us of the Haddon team after vacation borrowing has started.  Note that you can’t expect recalled books to come back quite so fast once people start to leave Cambridge.

Pitt Rivers’ germs
Friday, 12th February, 2016

See http://bit.ly/1TWZoIa for the script of our 2015 Alumni Festival presentation!

Use Newton when LibrarySearch crashes
Thursday, 28th January, 2016

Newton is older and clunkier and doesn’t let you search all the libraries at one go — but sometimes Newton stays up better than LibrarySearch, and you might find you prefer it.

If you’re in LibrarySearch and want to slip over to Newton, you’ll see the word ‘Newton’ among those options shown in the black line at the top of the screen. Click on ‘Newton’ and you’ll be taken straight there.

Lent Term opening hours
Monday, 11th January, 2016

Monday to Thursday 08:45–17:15
Friday 09:15-17:15
Saturday 11:00-16:00

The term begins on Tuesday 12 January.

Haddon books borrowed during the vacation are due for return on Friday 15 January.  You can renew the loans at http://bit.ly/sqEQYe .

We’ll keep lost property to the end of the following month
Thursday, 17th December, 2015

We’ll dispose of things found in the Haddon that are not claimed, or traceable to owners, at the end of the calendar month following the discovery (with the legal fiction that the Long Vac amounts to a calendar month).

At the moment, we have one item of unclaimed property: a keyring with two keys, marked “9th ICAANE”. Is it yours?